Trends in 2nd Year

I’ve been back for less than a week and have noticed some trends so far.

1. iPads. I’m sitting in lecture and the first thing I notice is the number of iPads that are whipped out. Perhaps one reason is that the med school no longer gives us free printing. I’ve been using one since the beginning of first year and have found it convenient to take notes, check email/read articles when I get bored, and not have to carry huge binders of paper from class everywhere.

2. Marriage. There have been more Facebook engagement announcements these past 3 days than I’ve ever seen. I don’t know what happened this summer but all of a sudden a lot of these relationships that have existed since the beginning of first year, many of them long distance, are being taken to the next level. I heard today that there are 19 people in our class who are married or getting married and many more in the works. This goes to show that relationships can last in med school if you’re willing to put in the effort.

Here’s a happy couple. Congrats to John and Nia!

Leave a Reply

