Some Lovers Try Positions That They Can’t Handle

I didn’t see this coming, but I am actually enjoying anatomy. I was leaning more towards going into primary care but now I am also seriously considering surgery as an option. It’s only been a week, but we have already ripped through the muscles of the body and finished dissecting the back, chest, arms, legs, hands and feet. There is something satisfying about first finding and then feeling all the different kinds of muscles, nerves, and vessels against your fingers, from the slippery firmness of the muscles in the leg to the intricate web of nerves of the brachial plexus in the arms. Each area of dissection requires a different touch. While I could plunge my fingers into the thighs and dig around, I had to be a lot more careful using my scalpel and forceps to tease out the delicate muscles, nerves and vessels in the hands and feet.

I finally feel like I’m in medical school, but I can’t help feeling that the process of desensitization has begun. Initially, dissecting a human body felt to me a bit unnatural, but even after just a week I already feel less discomfort cutting off skin, pulling on muscles, and cracking bones. When I’m so concentrated on a body part, I sometimes forget that there is a person lying before me. All I could focus on is finding the right muscles or clearing away the fat. We found a large tumor the other day near the groin and I thought that was really cool, but it probably wasn’t really cool for its owner.

What I haven’t gotten used to still is the smell, which bothers me the most when I’m eating and all I could smell is the formaldehyde. Luckily when we’re studying anatomy, we have virtual dissection programs so we don’t need to go into the lab all the time.

Studying anatomy requires its own set of skills. I tried memorizing straight-up all the different muscles, bones, nerves and vessels, which went alright, but when I tried to think about their relation to one another that didn’t go so well. Hence medicine’s best friend: mnemonics. We used them for the MCATs. We’re using them now for anatomy. And we’ll be using them for the rest of our lives as doctors.

Some of you may be wondering about the mnemonic in the title of this post. Our lecturer shared it with us as a way to remember the bones in the hand, which are the scaphoid, lunate, triquetrum, pisiform, trapezium, trapeziod, capitate and hamate. I have no idea how I would’ve remembered all eight of these bones without this mnemonic. Do any of you know other useful/fun mnemonics?

Comments
4 Responses to “Some Lovers Try Positions That They Can’t Handle”
  1. jaxie says:

    I love sex, suck my rod,i got pretty penis, s234 pick your penis off the floor,c678 work your lats and get a date… Among others 🙂 wow med students are inappropriate…

  2. Liz Shen says:

    haha I’m getting tested on that this Friday!

    SAD PUCKER for retroperitoneal organs
    All For One and One For All for thenar and hypothenar muscles
    So Long The Pinkie, Here Comes The Thumb (same bones as the Some Lovers Try Positions…)
    Randy Travis Drinks Cold Beer (brachial plexus)
    Tom Dick And Nervous Harry (tarsal tunnel- tibialis anterior, flexor digitorum longus, artery, nerve, flexor hallucis longus)
    NAVL (femoral triangle- nerve, artery, vein, lymphatics)

    …just to name a few!! 🙂 I’ve been loving anatomy too….

  3. brian says:

    What’s the name of the virtual dissector program you’re using? We’ve got VHDissector, which is great n all, but lacks polish.

  4. brian says:

    Never mind. A closer look at your pictures reveals all. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

