Unconventional Giving

Elaine forwarded this article to me and I found it to be pretty cool.

The premise is instead of just giving homeless people some spare change, you give them a credit card with a certain amount of money to buy whatever they wanted. I’m not sure how sustainable such a concept is, and I don’t think the author is advocating for us to give homeless people credit cards. Rather I think it’s interesting to see what people end up buying and if they even use the full amount or take your credit card. But a part of me feels like this article was simply a “cool experiment” with not much discussion of how we can actually use this data to help the homeless.

Check it out! How Panhandlers Use Free Credit Cards

Leave a Reply

