My First Surgery

I didn’t think too much of it until the day of the surgery. Things that people have said started trickling into my brain.

“There’s going to be a lot of bleeding.”

“My daughter kept throwing up afterwards.”

“If a nerve gets cut, you’ll never be able to open your mouth again.”

I think it was good in some ways that my first surgery happened to me as a patient. Knowing that I may one day be the one doing the operating, I took mental notes of how I felt as a patient and how the clinicians interacted with me and my parents. But unfortunately after two minutes I was immediately knocked out with anesthesia. Luckily beforehand they were thorough in explaining and answering our questions, albeit a bit pushy with a hint of “let’s just get it over with” attitude since I can assume that they must do wisdom teeth extraction all the time and I was just another case.

Six days after surgery, I have been recovering nicely and I’m happy that it went well, though not happy that I haven’t been able to eat a lot of solid foods and have also lost 8 pounds a week before my camping trip with FEAT (First-Year Education Adventure Trip).

Although I wasn’t able to move around much, I had plenty of downtime to try out Starcraft 2!

Comments
2 Responses to “My First Surgery”
  1. Deborah says:

    Eric, may you always remember that “attitude” thing and never forget to treat your future patients in the manner in which you want to be treated, no matter how many patients you have to service!

Leave a Reply

